Batting failure continues as Bangladesh bowled out for 171

Bangladesh are consistently showing their dismal batting performance as they have been bowled out for just 171 runs against New Zealand in the last ODI of the three-match bilateral series.Since the beginning of the 2023 Asia Cup, Bangladesh played a total of seven innings with batting including this match. They were able to go through full 50 overs in just two matches of them.In this match, the Bangladeshi batters could not play even 35 overs. And the host were bowled out in 42 overs in the second game and suffer a 86-run defeat. First match was washed out due to heavy rainfall in Dhaka.

losing three wickets in the six overs at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Tuesday. The openers Tanzid Hasan Tamim (5) and Zakir Hasan (1) failed to execute their commitments with the bats.The trend of falling wickets continued throughout the innings as Towhid Hridoy (18), Mushfiqur Rahim (18), and Mahmudullah Riyad (21) departed early on their innings. New Zealand picked up wickets at regular intervals and did not let Bangladesh get away with any substantial partnerships.Najmul Shanto, who was made the stand-in captain, was the only standout performer with his 76 off 84.Adam Milne was the pick of the bowlers as he ended up with figures of 4-34 for the visitors from 6.3 overs. Each of Trent Boult and Cole McConchie picked up two wickets.Bangladesh made four changes to the playing XI from the second game, with Shanto coming in for the first time in the series, alongside Mushfiqur Rahim, Shoriful Islam, and Zakir Hossain, who will make his debut. The ones to miss out on are Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, and Mustafizur Rahman.New Zealand also made two changes as Dean Foxcroft and Adam Milne came in for Chad Bowes and Kyle Jamieson. The visitors have already a 1-0 lead in the series.Playing XIs

Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Tanzid Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Zakir Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Khaled Ahmed.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Will Young, Dean Foxcroft, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Cole McConchie, Ish Sodhi, Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson (c), Trent Boult.

Related Articles

Back to top button